Eyes for Serving

Yesterday I was with a dear friend of mine and her beautiful family.  During the course of the day, I heard her use a phrase that I have never heard before.  She encouraged her girls to have “eyes for serving”.  We were having a fellowship time and while we were together her girls, without being told or reminded, made lattes for the adults, took people’s plates when they were finished eating, gathered up song sheets after singing and helped with the younger children.  They definitely illustrated having “eyes for serving”.

I was not only encouraged to see a family instilling this attitude within their children but honestly, I was a bit rebuked.  Sometimes I don’t even think about those type of things……isn’t that horrible?  Anyway, it seems that I have been challenged in this area on more than one occassion lately…..my need for a deeper and wider servant’s heart.  To be honest, that is one of my prayers as we move to manage this ranch.  I am praying that God will give me “eyes for serving” my husband, my family, and others that visit.  I know that as I do that I will be a much better and clearer picture of the mind of Christ that we have been focusing on for this year’s theme at Artios Academies.  “Let this mind be in you which was also in Christ Jesus….who, being in the form of God, thought it not robbery to be equal with God, but took upon himself the form of a SERVANT and was made in the likeness of man.”   Servant leadership at its best.

So……today and tomorrow it is packing and loading up and then Wednesday is the big day.  Through all of this, I’m praying that I will remember that it is NOT about me and that I will focus on areas in which I can serve my husband, my family and others.  If I think back about the stories of many early settlers, ranchers, and farmers, there was definitely a theme of servanthood as they served their families and lived in community and served each other.

Faith and Courage,

Lori

One thought on “Eyes for Serving

  1. sweet..
    i’ll share with the girls..

    love being in community with you all,
    me

Leave a Reply

