My First Goat Cheese!

Well, I did it.

This morning….Jared had the stomach flu so I went out and milked Tallulah! After coming in, I pasteurized the milk and then started my first batch of goat cheese. Heated the milk to 185 degrees…removed the milk from the heat….added the right amount of vinegar…and let the milk set for 15 minutes.

At the end of 15 minutes, I removed the cover and skimmed off the curd and poured it into cheesecloth which was over a strainer. I pressed out the extra extra water and then tied the four corners of the cheesecloth and hung it over the colander so that the remaining liquid could drain out.

I did not season this batch. I want to bread it and fry it in olive oil and serve it over a mixed green salad. I tried frying a little tonight and OH MY GOODNESS…it is delicious. SO anxious to try different types of cheeses! Obviously, I started with the easiest kind……but hey, it’s a start!

Wish I had some pictures…..but I’m not very good at taking pictures of food that are worthy of putting on the web.

Another bit of adventure for me in the ranch kitchen!

Leave a Reply

