I wish my name was Laura!

There are two literary characters that I have always deeply related to. The first is Laura Ingalls Wilder from the Little House series, and the second is Anne Shirley from the Anne of Green Gables series. However, if I had to choose one that felt more like me than the other……it would be Laura Ingalls Wilder. In fact, I have often wished my name was Laura instead of the simple and plain Lori! Maybe I relate to Laura because she spent much of her life in parts of the United States that I’m familiar with. Maybe it’s because she lived a lifestyle similar to the one that I heard my great-grandmother and grandmother talk about living. Maybe it’s because I relate to Laura’s “act now-think later” approach to her early life…..OR…..MAYBE it’s something about the way Laura and her whole family seemed to approach life.

Yes, I realize that there are HUGE differences between the Little House book series and the Little House television series….and yet, there are also some very, VERY strong similarities. I’ve admired the way they pulled together through tough times and countless other characteristics that seemed to embody the American spirit. But since I’ve lived in a more rural setting the past five years, I think it is their creativity that I admire the most.

Creativity is probably NOT the characteristic you expected me to mention. When the word creativity or creative is used, it is too often relegated to those “artsy” areas of life that include visual arts, theater, music, film, literature etc. But creativity is SO much more than that….it’s a way of looking at things…..a way and an approach to every area of life.

I’ll write more about this when I have more time!

Leave a Reply

