Day 10: Your Custom Homestead

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Aren’t they adorable? They are the newest ranch residents and we brought them home yesterday. We always get our chicks at Murdoch’s Ranch Supply!

Well, Day 10’s topic is Do Some Research. Yep….we’ve done alot of that. I have all of Mary Jane’s books on being a “farm girl”, I have read articles, saved information, created files, and I have The Encyclopedia of Country Living by Carla Emery, Storey’s Guide to Raising Dairy Goats, Storey’s Guide to Raising Chickens, The Ball Blue Book Guide to Preserving, Hobby Farm Home and more. I have found that there are opinions everywhere and that often, people only present the “ideal” way of doing things and not necessarily a workable way that isn’t ideal but that will still yield good results and not cost an arm and a leg. I guess that’s why I like The Encyclopedia of Country Living so much. It kind of takes that depression era saying I talked about yesterday, and puts it to practical use.

Today, after our 14 year old finished his math, he asked if he could possibly spend some time building a playground for the goats. Since there was alot of practical application of various things we have been talking about during school, this was a perfect time to take a deep breath from the “books” and do some hands on. He has completed building a great playground for his goats…and yes, they are his goats. He made it all from scrap wood and built it himself. Love it! But first, before he began sawing, hammering and screwing wood, he did some research. Always a good idea before beginning a project.

But, I have also found that I can hide behind the need for “research” and avoid getting started and getting my hands dirty. I guess somewhere along this 21 day journey, Jill will have me put the research and writing aside and dig in. I am anxious to begin.

Faith and Courage,

Lori

Leave a Reply

