Coming Home!

I’m headed home after a great business trip down to South Carolina!….and by great…I mean GREAT!  But, I have to tell you that I cannot wait to get back home.  The great thing about what I do is that it is my passion but my passion of working with young people goes hand in hand with my family life and my passion for my own family.

As I drove from South Carolina to Atlanta to catch my flight back home (yes, the picture above is where I live) I had alot of time to think.  So much has happened in the past few days…..so many things seem to be coming together after having worked so hard….but I will say, once again, that nothing brings me more happiness, more fulfillment or more contentment than my family….it is an place of comfort, of blessing, of ministry, of work, of relationships, and of love.

I can’t wait to see my handsome husband, my amazing 14 year old son, my horse Zander, all the new chicks, to smell some cool, crisp and clean mountain air and to just take a deep breath.  More than ever I want to share this place with others.  It is special…..it has a way of making things clear.  Oh sure…there have been times when I have wondered if we were crazy choosing to move out of the city and to a place where NOTHING seems to be available conveniently…..and yet, when I think of what has happened over the past few years and how important pieces of our future, the future of our family, and the future of our business have happened in the stillness and the quiet of being able to step away from the fray….I know that we are in the right place.

There is something about having a connection to the land upon which you live that makes things simpler, easier to understand…..somehow, it helps things make sense.  To break down even more, I think that a connection to the land, to God’s creation and creatures, can give us a glimpse into His perspective on things and of course, an even deeper amazement about the God whom I serve….his omnipotence, omniscient, omnipresence, his character, his grace, his love, his creativity.  He is beyond description.

Anyway, I’m glad to be coming home…..to get back on my journey to my “custom homestead” journey with Jill Winger of http://www.theprairiehomestead.com, to feel the warmth and comfort of family hugs and kisses and to bake some bread, and ride my horse.  Yes, I have a TON of other work to do….and we are facing some BIG decisions, but hey, first things first!

Faith and Courage,

Lori

 

Leave a Reply

