Learn How To Cook: Day 17 On My Journey to the Custom Homestead

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Whew!  Well, this one…..is something I’ve already done….so in a way, I get a little breather on this 21 day journey to my custom homestead.  I can cook and I do cook.   With as much physical labor as the guys do around the ranch, I definitely cook…and cook alot.

I have to smile now when I look back on the early days of our marriage.  I knew how to back bread, but besides that…well, not so much.  One of John’s sisters visited us a few months after we were married during her high school spring break.  She went back home to John’s mom completely and totally worried and told John’s sweet mama that she was afraid “Johnny” was going to starve because she couldn’t tell what it was that I was cooking but that it was awful.

Fast forward 28 years and I can definitely cook.  Having four boys in the house for so many years made it a necessity. Truth be told…I secretly like cooking when I have had the time to plan, when there are “supplies” in the pantry, fridge and freezer.  I have loved getting back to cooking from scratch since moving back to Colorado and I love the fact that by necessity, we have to have a well-stocked pantry.  There is something comforting about having a stocked pantry and a stocked freezer. That way even if you get behind in the planning part, there is always something that you can pull together for each meal with very little stress.  (except for the clean up of course!)

Well, if you read yesterday’s post, you may remember that I woke up with that “fragile” feeling.  John Piper recently talked about that in one of his blogs I believe.  He says that for him, that feeling usually comes after receiving a good quantity of criticism, criticism from someone close, or when he is very tired.  Well, hmmmm….that makes sense!  I’m very tired after the last few weeks……and yes, being in leadership may appear to be a great thing and it often is, but it also means you take some pretty good hits from time to time.  So, John Piper hit the nail on the head.  I had been criticized (not by family or close friends….but criticized nonetheless) and I was exceptionally tired.

So, after moping for a bit, I ended up outside and sat in the beautiful Colorado sun for awhile and then got on the six wheeler and went riding around the property.  That’s when I spied the beautiful pronghorns that you see in the pictures above.  Nothing like getting outside to lift your spirits and put things in perspective.  Never seems to fail.

Faith and Courage,

Lori

Leave a Reply

