Practice Preservation: Day 20 On My Journey to My Custom Homestead

Growing up fast!

Since moving to Colorado, I have learned to can and learned more about freezing.  I have invested in a water bath canner and a dehydrater.  I haven’t done any pressure canning.  I had a friend that helped me learn about canning tomatoes and peaches and I have gained alot of information from online sources and great books.

I have canned peaches, tomatoes, salsa, tomato soup, apple jelly, peach jelly, peach salsa, dill pickles, bread and butter pickles and more.  I have frozen corn, beans, peppers, and more.  My pantry reflects the storage of various grains as well.

I didn’t know much about any of this before I moved here but I had always wanted to do this type of thing.  I admired my grandmother and my great grandmother who “put up” food every year and who seemed to instinctively know when different produce would be available to “put up”.  Living in a rural setting where I can’t just slip out to the store on a whim, it’s been great to have a well-stocked pantry.

2 thoughts on “Practice Preservation: Day 20 On My Journey to My Custom Homestead

  1. I am just learning canning with the water bath and loving it myself. Going to put up some salsa this morning! Good luck with everything 🙂

Leave a Reply

