Challenges or Opportunities, Part One

After yesterday’s post, I received a comment telling me not to leave everyone “hanging”…but to get into what has been going on in my life.  For whatever reason, I always hesitate doing that.  Yet, I know that the blogs that I’m drawn to have a transparent feel to them, one in which the writer is just sharing of herself.  So, at the risk of feeling a bit “naked”, I’m going to share a bit.  I could share about the health struggles that seem to have affected every member of our family this past year, the finance challenges, the work challenges, the church challenges….the list is pretty long.  But today, I’m just going to focus on something a bit more “trivial”….housing and space challenges.

You remember…or maybe you don’t, that we moved back to our original Colorado home late last August.  We had been “managing” another ranch and facility with the hopes of purchasing that property.  But, God had other plans, doors closed, and other doors opened.  One of the challenges of moving back to our original house included a space challenge.  Our house is small, open concept and very little storage.  Yes, I knew all that when we purchased it…but we had plans, big plans to expand it.  Again, God has had other plans or at least delayed those plans.

I don’t know about you, but when my “nest” is not settled, I just can’t think.  Once we moved back in, school almost immediately started.  Yes, we homeschool.  But, we also own Artios Academies, which is a arts and academics program that assists homeschool families.  We have several campuses in several states.  So, as you can imagine, to move right as all of that was starting up for the school year meant that I needed to delay some of the projects that needed to be handled around here.  I wasn’t going to delay them for long.  I just wanted to follow my mantra and priorities of “people, process and product” at home as well as within Artios.

But that delay meant I never felt settled.  So thankful I had lots of help from my sweet 15 year old who loves to organize.  But, when he organizes that means I don’t know where anything is.  Get the picture.  So, in some ways I have felt like I was staying in someone else’s home.  Don’t get me wrong!  I’m SO glad to be back for SO many reasons.  But, you know how we women are…we like to “nest”.

The space challenge has continued to bug me and instead of embracing it and rolling with it, I’ve just continued to hit my head against a brick wall and chafe under the confinement that I felt it brought to me.  I knew I didn’t have money to buy things to “make things better” and I, (for whatever reason) refused to try and be creative with what I did have.

Put all of that together…and I’ve been fuzzy headed.  Can you relate?  My frustration and my lack of thinking “outside the box” has had me stuck in this area.  Well, I’m still struggling!  But, I’m starting to make progress.  For example, one morning I got up and had “had it” with all the clutter in my kitchen cupboards.  So, I began cleaning them out and throwing things out and giving things away.  Well, that was a step in the right direction.

Yesterday, I tackled the laundry room.  Something that has totally been on my nerves.  Now, before I go any further, let me describe my house layout to you.

When you walk through the front door you are immediately in the main room which is open concept to the kitchen.  The kitchen (yes the kitchen) has the one main bathroom off of it.  There are log stairs going up to a loft where the boys sleep….and stairs going down to a ground floor where there is another large room which is our bedroom.  Off of our bedroom is the laundry room and an “in progress” master bath.  That’s it.

So….what is the point of this post!  Well, I guess you could say I’m “exhorting” myself to think of this house as an opportunity instead of a challenge that holds me back….one that I can’t overcome.  The fires down in the Springs reminded me….I have much to be thankful for.

What about you?  Are you facing some challenges that just might be opportunities in disguise?

4 thoughts on “Challenges or Opportunities, Part One

  1. Moving from a larger to a smaller space can be hard. When you are also letting go of a dream, dealing with health, family and business challenges it becomes even more complicated.
    My husband and I will be retiring and downsizing to a space of about 250 square feet (granted there are only two of us.) I have been slowly but surely de-cluttering, minimizing, gifting, donating and trashing a great deal of our “stuff”. I took it slow, with the most obvious and least painful first and then slowly peeling things away layer by layer. I have to say I have found the results liberating and freeing. I no longer feel owned by my possessions. I will probably have to continue to de-clutter once we actually get to our new space since I am sure I am over estimating what will fit. But, I am no longer afraid or overwhelmed by the thought.
    Remember, the only way you can eat an elephant is one bite at a time. 🙂

    • Absolutely! Thanks for sharing your experience.
      Just curious…are you moving to an RV…one of those “little houses”….?
      Sounds like an adventure!

      • We are moving to England to live in a longboat/canal boat and cruise the hundreds of miles of canals in England for a year or two at 4 mph. Our boat will be about 52 feet long and 6 1/2 feet wide. But, it will have a bathroom, kitchen, bedroom, dining area and small living area. I am really looking forward to it.

  2. Oh Sandy,that sounds like so much fun!! I hope you have a wonderful time!

    I have finally begun to accept that I am my own worst enemy. I tend to be “rigid” in my thinking and if things don’t turn out the way I “think” they should,it really throws me. I am working on that mind set and trying to work with life instead of fighting it all the time. An example; Our children are grown and gone and I lamented that I never got the sewing room I wanted. It finally hit me that the only reason I didn’t have a sewing room was because I had used our boys room for storage,instead of cleaning out the clutter and having a sewing room! I am now in the process of decluttering all those “good intentions” and getting on with my life and having a sewing room!
    It is hard to change the way you think and approach things,but I am working on it,step by step. Good luck to you in your challenges! Darlene

Leave a Reply

