Getting Back to Basics

IMG_0126

The first of the year brought a very decisive focus for us as a family and a family that has a “family business.”  From the 3rd of January through mid-May our lives and schedules were dictated, by a purposeful choice, by the goals we had set for our family, for restructuring our business and of course, by baseball season.  (John is a High School baseball coach)

When May came, we planned our summer with purpose to allow time to catch up on projects at home, projects at work and have some much needed family time and time with our beloved Rocky Mountains and our animals.  Then came the Artios Outpost intern retreat followed by the Littleton Outpost and the final push in August to get all the east coast schools up and running.

With most of that completed last week, we took a GIANT big breath over the weekend.   Oh yes, there is still more to do but it was time to bring life back into some sort of balance.  For me, outside of our family relationships, balance has to do with home management.  So bright and early on Friday morning, we headed down the mountain, into the valley and straight to the grocery store.

There is something magical about having food in the house and a meal plan in place.  Now, I’m not rigidly attached to a meal plan…but boy, there is a real comfort with knowing that I have one if I need one due to being completely and totally without creativity or energy on any given evening.

But, I digress!

The night before our grocery run, in excited anticipation of the array of produce and meats I would encounter the next day, I decided to put together a meal plan….a plan that included new recipes.

It’s not as hard as it sounds…when you have a tool and trick of the trade right on your phone.

Yep, I’m talking about an app…an app by the name of ziplist.

OH MY WORD!

It not only gives me great ideas but then, I can put that recipe in my recipe box and select for any given trip to the grocery story and it will make me a complete grocery list….and even remind me of things that I may have forgotten.

Nope, I’m not an affiliate of ziplist….I’m just know a good thing when I see it and I want you to know about it too!

What tool do you use to help you meal plan and shop?

I’d love to hear about it!

One thought on “Getting Back to Basics

  1. Very good! My meal plans…!

    Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

