Facing Out

This post is for me….not for you few who read this blog…but for me.

Sometimes blogs act as a journal you know.  This post is one of those.

My school year is off to a fast start.  It’s full of homeschooling, teaching preparation, administrative tasks, running my home and keeping food on the table and clothes washed.  Sometimes I can be so tasked oriented.  I talk alot about people, process, product but sometimes I get my head down, working on a tas, focused on keeping up with my to-do list, that I forget about one person and that person is me.

But what does that mean?  What’s it mean to take care of myself.

I don’t think it means having to have lunch with friends every week, or have my nails done on a regular basis, or even a day of pampering.  Sometimes I think has more to do with focus.  Sometimes, I need to lift my head up…raise my eyes from the task at hand and look around.

This morning I got up about 5:30.  Not because I wanted to get up that early, but because I just woke up…one of the joys of mid-life I guess.  Anyway, I got up feeling a bit unsettled.  I had experienced crazy dreams all night last night and I just woke up a bit on edge.  It didn’t help that yesterday I worked from morning until night without raising my head to “look out.”

So, this morning as I was thinking and praying about figuring out what was bothering me….I went to get my first cup of coffee and decided to change where I was sitting from my chair by the window which faces IN….to the couch which faces OUTside.  I immediately felt more peaceful and had a bit more positive perspective on the day ahead….all because I was “facing out”.

Sometimes taking care of myself is just as simple as that…it’s raising my head, looking out…and realizing there are more important things than completing that “to do” list….it’s not focusing quite so intensely on the task at hand for such long periods of time, instead it is taking a deep breath and looking out…it’s not focusing on my challenges, it is lifting my head and looking out at all the blessings I have.

Not sure if this makes sense to anyone reading…but it makes ALOT of sense to me….and today, I’m looking out.

2 thoughts on “Facing Out

  1. I usually think of Psalm 121. You have those hills so close.
    Thanks for writing this, and may your day be really good!!!

    Psalm 121 (KJV)

    121 I will lift up mine eyes unto the hills, from whence cometh my help.

    2 My help cometh from the Lord, which made heaven and earth.

    3 He will not suffer thy foot to be moved: he that keepeth thee will not slumber.

    4 Behold, he that keepeth Israel shall neither slumber nor sleep.

    5 The Lord is thy keeper: the Lord is thy shade upon thy right hand.

    6 The sun shall not smite thee by day, nor the moon by night.

    7 The Lord shall preserve thee from all evil: he shall preserve thy soul.

    8 The Lord shall preserve thy going out and thy coming in from this time forth, and even for evermore.

Leave a Reply

