Playing in the Kitchen

Sometimes, when I’m home alone, the most relaxing activity I can do will be what a friend of mine refers to as….

Playing in the Kitchen!

Sometimes, after I’ve had to focus on alot of business related projects for Artios or Heart of the Matter, or I have been traveling, I hesitate to get back into the kitchen.  Don’t ask me why…but I find myself doing the bare minimum regarding getting meals on the table.

But, I’m beginning to realize, that “playing in the kitchen” raises my spirits, helps me get centered, regain perspective, and quite honestly, feel better about myself and my priorities.

So…that’s what I did today.

Let me share with you what I made today!

 

Roast Pork Shoulder

3 1/2 pound pork shoulder roast

2 tbs. garlic powder

1 tbs. smoked paprika

2 tsp. salt

2 tsp. black pepper

2 tbls. grapeseed oil

Instructions:

Combine all the spices and rub into all surfaces of the roast.

Place the grapeseed oil in a skillet (preferably cast iron) and preheat the pan.

Once your pan and oil are heated, place your roast fat side down in the skillet and sear…repeat with all sides and ends of the roast so that a crispy outside is produced.

Place the roast in a preheated 350 degree oven (do not cover) and cook until internal temp reaches 160.

 

Chunky Mashed Potato Soup

3 cups milk.

1 cup sour cream

1/2 lb. cooked bacon

1 onion diced (cooked in the bacon grease)

2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. black pepper

2 tsp. garlic powder

8 medium sized potatoes

Instructions:

Wash and cut potatoes into large cubes.  (do not peel)  Place potatoes in pot of water and cook for approximately 45 minutes until tender.  Use mixer to “mash” your potatoes.

Add your bacon, onion, salt, pepper, garlic powder, milk and sour cream and mix.

Slowly bring mixture to a low boil on the stove.  Use mixer again if potatoes are still a bit “too” chunky.

Serve with green onions and cheese on top.

Then, I broiled cherry tomato, basil and cheese and mixed up some pumpkin biscuits.

YUM.

I need to find time to “play” more often.

Leave a Reply

