Cooking with My Grandma

IMG_2915As you know, the last post I wrote had to do with playing in the kitchen.  It was so relaxing.  This past week I’ve been a bit under the weather.  Nothing serious…just, you know, under the weather.  I’ve worked from the couch, read from the couch, watch the seasons change from the couch, slept on the couch, watched TV on the couch.  You know how it is!

I’ve also been doing alot of thinking while on the couch.  Sometimes that’s a good thing and sometimes that’s a bad thing. For today, I’m just going to talk to you about one of the “good things” I’ve been thinking about.

I need a a distraction…I think people call it a hobby.  Whatever you call it I need one.  Most of what I do as a “ministry” or “business” (theater, art, music, writing, etc) other people often do as a hobby.  However, for me all of those things have to do with my ministry and work.  I need something else.  I have LOTS of other interests…but sometimes, because I love what I do so much I don’t take time to take care of me or develop other interests that I have.

So, I’ve been kind of analyzing what makes me relax…what makes me feel the most satisfied and content…and what brings me the most reward when I actually set aside time to do it and I came up with TWO THINGS.

1.  Playing outside.

2.  Playing in the kitchen.

But, if you know me…my playing always seems to have a purpose or a project!  So, I’ve been thinking about that to and here is what I came up with.

1.  I’m going to get back up on the horse…THIS WEEK…and I’m going to tell you about it…so that someone can share in my journey.  I may even start walking in an effort to build up some stamina and create more energy…but I’m not committing to that yet.

2.  I’m going to play in the kitchen…but I’m going to do it with a purpose.  I’m going to start cooking through some of my great-grandmother’s, grandmother’s and great aunt’s recipes that they left us when they went to be with the Lord.  Doing that adds to my personal satisfaction of celebrating my midwestern/farming/ranching heritage.

See what I mean…I have to have a purpose and a project.

So today, I’m spending some time going through some old cookbooks I have and I’ve emailed my mom and asked her if she can start scanning me some recipes that she has at her house.  I wish I could get to her and we could go through them together…but we have been down to one car since May…so coordinating travel has been a bit challenging.

I hope you will pop in every once in a while and see what I’m cooking, where I am riding…and IF I start walking.

Faith and Courage,

Lori

Leave a Reply

