A Pumpkin Pie Emergency

pumpkinpiedone

(not mine…but mine looks this good!)

One HUGE trip to the grocery store…followed by one EXTRA-LARGE trip to the same store, and I still came home with out 2 cans of sweetened condensed milk for the very important pumpkin pies.

Now I could certainly go without pumpkin pie.  I literally hate the texture of pumpkin pie…BUT, I have one son whose Thanksgiving is not complete without pumpkin pie and A LOT of it.

Realizing I didn’t have the sweetened condensed milk, we began searching all the cupboards for evaporated milk.  The recipe did say that I could use evaporated milk IF I added 1 to 1 1/2 cups of sugar to it.  After searching the pantry downstairs and ALL the cupboards upstairs.  We came up with one can of evaporated milk that had expired in 2009 and one can that had expired in the middle of September 2013.  I threw out the can from 2009 but decided to take my chances with the can from September of 2013.

This left me one can short.

So, what may seem like common sense to you seemed like a risk to me but I went ahead and filled up 2/3 of the empty evaporated milk can with regular milk, poured it into the mixing bowl and added 1 and 2/3 cup of sugar…crossed my fingers and hoped for the best.

In the past, given that we live at 9450 feet above sea level, up in the Rocky Mountains, I’ve had some trouble with pumpkin pies setting properly.  But I am THRILLED to tell you, that despite the makeshift ingredients, these two pumpkin pies are the best pumpkin pies I have ever made and they set perfectly.

Whew…one Thanksgiving Day cooking miracle down…and, well, I hope that’s the only cooking miracle I need today! : )

One thought on “A Pumpkin Pie Emergency

  1. This is a great account!!! Thank you for sharing it!!!

Leave a Reply

